DRCOG 2023 Annual Awards Celebration

From left to right: Douglas W. Rex, Herb Atchison, Steve Conklin. Photo taken at the DRCOG Annual Awards Celebration. Shows Herb holding his John V. Christensen award.

Nearly 500 people joined the Board of Directors on Wednesday, Oct. 4, for the “All in!” celebration at the Seawell Ballroom at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. If you were among them, we're delighted you were there. If you couldn’t make it, here’s what you missed.

The evening began with a social hour with music from Peneplain Jazz.

At 7 p.m., Gov. Jared Polis delivered in-person greetings, followed by a recorded welcome from jurisdiction host City and County of Denver Mayor Mike Johnston.

Emcee Makenzie O’Keefe of CBS Colorado kept the program moving at a lively pace, including greetings from executive director Douglas W. Rex and Board chair Steve Conklin, council member from Edgewater.

Winners included:

Way to Go Champion Award

Rising Star: Scott Gutshall
Employer Champion: City of Longmont
Commuter of the Year: Brandon Figliolino

Distinguished Service Award

John Douglas, M.D.
Dr. Houston G. “Tex” Elam
Linda Haley
Steve Hebert 
Chris Pelletier
Beth Truby
Piep van Heuven
Bill Van Meter
Rebecca White

Metro Vision Award

Housing: Clara Brown Commons and Crossing Pointe
Transportation: The Denver Connector, Denver E-Bike Voucher Program and Lone Tree Link on Demand Transit Program
Resident needs: Hoarding Disorder and Clutter Removal Services and Let’s Talk Resident Engagement Program
Recovery and resiliency: Marshall Fire Recovery

After chair Conklin honored immediate past chair Kevin Flynn (council member, City and County of Denver) and recognized previous chairs, attendees waited expectantly for the announcement of the 46th recipient of the John V. Christensen Memorial Award, whose identity is a secret until the gala.

This year’s John V. Christensen Memorial Award honoree is Herb Atchison, former City of Westminster mayor.

Scroll through the Flickr album from the 2023 Annual Awards Celebration.

2023 awards celebration | All in!