DENVER REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

1290 Broadway • Suite 100 • Denver, Colorado 80203-5606 main: 303-455-1000 • fax: 303-480-6790 • email: drcog@drcog.org • web: www.drcog.org

For Immediate Release: April 28, 2016

Contact:

Katy Burley Public relations coordinator Desk: 303-480-6743

E-mail: <u>KBurley@drcog.org</u> DRCOG Online Media room

DENVER REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS HONORS 21 PARTNERS WITH A DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD FOR SPECIALITY DATA COLLABORATION

DENVER – The Planimetric Data Group received a Distinguished Service Award from the Denver Regional Council of Governments (DRCOG). The award was presented by DRCOG Chair Elise Jones at DRCOG's annual awards celebration April 27 at the Westin Denver International Airport.

"Without the participation and contribution of these 21 data visionaries, this project could not have happened," said Jennifer Schaufele, DRCOG executive director. "Their collective foresight to imagine the process improvements, innovative research, and entrepreneurship fostered by this data shows their commitment to regionalism."

The Planimetric Data Group formed when DRCOG embarked on an ambitious and unprecedented project to acquire detailed infrastructure information for the entire region that is normally too cost-prohibitive. This specialty data (known as planimetric data) consists of information such as building outlines and sidewalks drawn through interpretation of aerial imagery.

Twenty-one partners contributed the funding to purchase the data, which is already being used for projects such as creating mobile apps for the visually impaired, fire pre-plan maps, and sidewalk quality and availability studies. Planimetric data is available for download, please click here.

Brian Davis, City of Arvada; Bill Keever, City of Aurora; Trish Stiles, Town of Bennett; Jeff Caldwell, Town of Castle Rock; Derek Stertz, City of Centennial; Kirk Hayer, City of Commerce City; Doug Genzer, City and County of Denver; Robert Stansauk, Denver Water; John Voboril, City of Englewood; Cindy Kamigaki, Town of Frederick; Kevin Brown, City of Glendale; Kim Soulliere, City of Golden; Jack Cornelius, City of Greenwood Village; Roger Caruso, City of Lafayette; Mike Demmon, City of Lone Tree; Kevin Corzine, City of Lakewood; Chris Neves, City of Louisville; Travis Reynolds, City of Northglenn; Dan Jackson, Regional Transportation District; Deborah Wilson, City of Thornton; Annabel Montoya, City of Wheat Ridge

DRCOG presents Distinguished Service Awards to individuals who contribute significant efforts to the Denver region and its communities, and to DRCOG's programs and activities. The regional council has been honoring outstanding achievements for more than 30 years.

The Denver Regional Council of Governments is a planning organization where local governments collaborate to establish guidelines, set policy and allocation finding in the areas of:

- Transportation and personal mobility
- Growth and development
- Aging and disability resources

###