Board Work Session Summary

Wednesday, August 7, 2024 Meeting held via Zoom

Members/Alternates Present

Colleen Whitlow, Chair Town of Mead Steve O'Dorisio Adams County Jeff Baker Arapahoe County Claire Levy Boulder County

Austin Ward

Adam Paul

Kevin Flynn

City and County of Broomfield

City and County of Denver

Marie Mornis
Andy Kerr
Lisa Feret
Angela Lawson
Deborah Mulvey

Gilpin County
Jefferson County
City of Arvada
City of Aurora
City of Castle Rock

Tim Dietz Town of Castle Rock
Tammy Maurer City of Centennial
Steve Douglas City of Commerce City
Ray Byrd Town of Firestone
Windi Padia Town of Frederick

Lynette Kelsey Town of Georgetown
Paul Haseman City of Golden

Tim Dietz City of Greenwood Village Town of Idaho Springs Chuck Harmon City of Lafayette Brian Wong Jeslin Shahrezaei City of Lakewood Stephen Barr City of Littleton City of Lone Tree Marissa Harmon Judi Kern City of Louisville City of Northglenn Richard Kondo Town of Parker John Diak

Justin MartinezCity of ThorntonSarah NurmelaCity of WestminsterBud StarkerCity of Wheat RidgeRachel HultinCity of Wheat Ridge

Others Present: Douglas W. Rex, Executive Director, Melinda Stevens, Executive Assistant, DRCOG; Michele Riccio, Adams County; Lauren Pulver, Douglas County; Mac Callison, Aurora; Kent Moorman, Thornton; Danny Herrmann, Colorado Department of Transportation; Bill Finney, George Lux, Citizens; and DRCOG staff.

Chair Colleen Whitlow called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Board Work Session Summary August 7, 2024 Page 2 of 2

Economic Development District Designation.

Flo Raitano provided an overview of the process to the directors. In February of 2024, DRCOG was notified by the Economic Development Administration that its Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy, more commonly known as a CEDS, had been approved. At the April 26, 2024 Board retreat, the possibility of pursuing the designation as an EDD was suggested by DRCOG staff and supported by the DRCOG Board members. This designation would provide local governments with additional administrative and technical support, such as funding for grant writing and other resources. To qualify, DRCOG must meet EDA's criteria and represent a broad geographic area, including numerous municipalities and counties. The EDD designation would not duplicate existing efforts but would complement and support local economic development by focusing on broader issues like workforce development and infrastructure. The annual funding is about \$70,000, but there's potential for future increases, and there would need to be a match with in-kind funds. Feedback from peer organizations has been positive, indicating the value of pursuing this designation. The Board will need to consider forming an Economic Development District Advisory Committee to guide this process and refine the approach, ensuring that final decisions remain with the Board.

DRCOG Climate Pollution Reduction Grant Overview.

Robert Spotts presented the grant highlights and budget for the program to the members. DRCOG has been awarded \$199.7 million from the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Climate Pollution Reduction Program to launch a five-year building decarbonization initiative focused on low-income and disadvantaged communities. This competitive grant, one of only 25 awarded out of 300 applicants, will fund significant efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from buildings, which is responsible for 52% of emissions in the region. The program will include upgrading 1,600 residences, training 4,800 workers, and providing \$40 million in rebates. Key elements involve public engagement, communication, and marketing, as well as workforce development and support for local businesses. The project aims to transform building energy use, address market barriers, and enhance local capacity through extensive collaboration with community organizations and stakeholders. DRCOG plans to finalize contracts, hire new staff, and set up advisory boards as part of the program's implementation.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:07 p.m.