DRCOG honors Distinguished Service Award winners

DRCOG honored eleven individuals with Distinguished Service Awards, presented during its annual awards celebration May 3 at
the Hyatt Regency Denver at the Colorado Convention Center.

“As the Denver region continues to grow at a rapid pace, we look to leaders who embody a collaborative
approach to addressing challenges and seizing opportunities,” said Douglas Rex, DRCOG’s executive
director. “Distinguished Service Award recipients exemplify this commitment.”

The following individuals were honored this year:

  • Stuart Anderson, executive director of Transportation Solutions
  • Mac Callison, principal transportation planner, City of Aurora
  • John Cotten, public works director (retired), City of Lone Tree
  • Susan Daggett, executive director, Rocky Mountain Land Use Institute
  • Karie Erickson, executive director, Aging Resources of Douglas County, Neighbor Network
  • Don Hunt, former executive director CDOT, managing director Mobility Choice Blueprint
  • Mike Lewis, former executive director CDOT
  • Sheila Lynch, program manager Tri-County Health Department
  • Carrie Makarawicz, assistant professor University of Colorado Denver
  • Kent Moorman, regional transportation engineer, City of Thornton
  • Margaret Tomcho, pediatric director Denver Health, partner in Accountable Health Community program

DRCOG presents Distinguished Service Awards to individuals who make significant contributions to the
Denver region and its communities, and to DRCOG’s programs and activities. The regional council has
been honoring outstanding achievements for more than 30 years.